Research Databases
African American Heritage
Search records, books, serials, and other historical records specific to African Americans to trace your genealogy or to do research. ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively
American and English full text literature collections
Electronic books of American and English literature: poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible.
Ancestry Library Edition
In-Library use only: You must be in the library to access this database. Ancestry® Library Edition, distributed exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com, delivers billions of records in census
Applied Science: Science and Medicine
Applied Science covers major fields and technologies in all areas, from agriculture to computers to engineering to medical to space sciences.
Bellaire Newspaper Archive
The Bellaire Public Library’s online newspaper archive collection has been created from the digitization of our microfilmed newspapers. Microfilm from 1873 to April 2024 may still be viewed at the library. From
Belmont County GIS Maps
Belmont County Geographic Information System (GIS) mission is to provide broad access to geospatial data and applications throughout the County and to the public. Types of maps digitized: Right-of-Way maps
Biography Reference Bank
Access biographical information on more than 335,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. Biography Reference Bank allows students and library patrons to quickly find the biographical
Business Source Premier
Boost your business knowledge by researching company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, and trade journal magazine articles.
Career Reference Guides
Get online access to our career reference guides.* These comprehensive guide books are specifically designed for a high school and undergraduate audience and are edited to align with secondary or
Chilton Library
Fix your car, truck, van, or SUV with these diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures. The online portal has repair, maintenance, labor time estimates, and bulletin/recall
Chronicling America
Search America’s historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Local papers available through Chronicling America: BELMONT COUNTY,
Civil Disobedience, Social Justice, Nationalism & Populism, Violent Demonstrations and Race Relations
Provides essays on current topics including civil disobedience, social justice, nationalism & populism, violent demonstrations, and race relations.
College Consensus
Published rankings of the best colleges and graduate schools based on an aggregate method of both student and publisher perspectives, along with scholarship and test prep information.
Consumer Health Complete
Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books. Read articles on health and fitness. Find sources for alternative health information.
Critical Survey of Long Fiction, Fourth Edition
Offers 678 profiles of major writers of long fiction throughout history and the world, including analyses of their significant novels and novellas. Discusses the novel in overview essays by time
Defining Documents in American History: World War I (1914–1919)
Provides readers with a new, interesting way to study the impact of World War I on American history. Through in-depth analysis of important primary documents from 1914 to 1919, readers
Digital Public Library of America
Historic digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and more. The DPLA portal to photographs, maps, documents, and AV materials from across the country is a great starting
EBSCOhost
Let your research begin with EBSCO! Search THOUSANDS of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos, and maps on MILLIONS of topics.
Explora Primary Schools
A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.
Explora Secondary Schools
Grades 6-12: A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.
Family Search
In-Library access only – must create your own account but will be able to access locked materials from the Library computers or wi-fi. FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the
Fold3
A premier collection of historical U.S. military records that brings to life the details of America’s military veterans with stories, photos, and personal documents.
Great Events from History: The Ancient World, Prehistory-476 c.e.
Nineteen maps of portions of the ancient world appear grouped together for easy reference in the front of each volume. Accompanying the essays are about 175 illustrations (mostly line art and photographs of
Great Events from History: The Eighteenth Century
Essays cover the world’s most important events and developments – from 1701 through 1800 – in the century that witnessed the world’s transition to a modern industrial and scientific society.
Great Events from History: The Nineteenth Century
The 667 chronologically arranged essays cover the world’s most important events and developments from 1801 through 1900 in the century that witnessed the Industrial Revolution, imperialism, colonialism, a realignment of world nations, Romanticism, and
Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives
Notorious Lives includes 637 biographies of notorious personages, from the merely controversial to extremely negative, from ancient times to the present and worldwide, with emphasis on their roles in historical
HeritageQuest
Search census records, books, serials, and other historical records to trace your genealogy.
Hobbies and Crafts Source
Find “how-to” instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.
Home Improvement Source
Home Improvement Reference Center features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects. Topics include: Electrical Flooring, Walls
Library of Congress Maps
Early maps of Bellaire are available online through the Library of Congress’ collections, including full-color Sanborn insurance maps.
Literary Reference Source
Research an author, novel, or poem for school or personal interest. Learn more about a literary movement for book discussions. Literary Reference Source gathers information about well-known authors and their
Novels Into Film: Adaptations & Interpretations
Novels Into Film: Analysis & Interpretations offers a unique look at how a story makes its way from the printed page to the screen. The 100 novels covered in this work represent a wide range of years, genres,
NuWav Legal Documents
The online tool that lets you create professional-quality documents in three simple steps: 1. Search for the document specific to your situation. 2. Answer the questions in the web input
Ohio History Connection
The Ohio History Connection, formerly the Ohio Historical Society, is a statewide history organization with the mission to spark discovery of Ohio’s stories. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization chartered in
Ohio Law
Ohio’s Official Online Publication of State Laws and Regulations provides access to Ohio’s Constitution, the Ohio Revised Code, and the Ohio Administrative Code. The Constitution is the state’s highest law
Ohio Means Jobs
The Ohio Means Jobs website helps job seekers find great careers and employers find great employees. Job seekers can do everything from plan a career, search hundreds of thousands of
Ohio Memory
Established in 2000, Ohio Memory is the collaborative statewide digital library program of the Ohio History Connection and the State Library of Ohio. On this free website, you can explore
Ohio Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Founded in 1867, the Sanborn Fire Insurance maps were produced nationwide for insurance agents to use in quoting fire insurance policies. However, today, the maps are used by researchers to
Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Find reliable introductory resources for your research with Oxford Research Encyclopedias. Reference content in humanities, social sciences, and science. Current, peer-reviewed trustworthy research, with articles you can read in 30 minutes or less
Pandemics: The Invisible Enemy
“Pandemics: The Invisible Enemy”, features important information on pandemics throughout world history.
Points of View Reference Center
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this resource provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and
Resume Templates
Browse and download resume templates for free. Find professional resume templates written by a resume writing expert, plus guides on how to write a resume that lands interviews. Expertly crafted
Science Reference Center
Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.
Small Business Reference Center
Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Includes business videos, a help and advice section
The 1950s in America
The Fifties in America surveys the events and people of all of North America during the 1950’s.
The 1980s in America
This encyclopedia is a much-needed source of reliable information for today’s students, all of whom were born after the decade ended. It features long overviews and short entries discussing people,
Treaties in the News
Selected essays to help explore current events.
Very Short Introductions
An excellent way to get a quick, authoritative, and accessible overview of a subject. Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Expert authors
Village of Bellaire Municipal Offices
Look up Village ordinances, download plat maps and tax forms, access a directory of Village businesses, view upcoming events, and more from the Village of Bellaire website. Download Village of
What Snake Is It?
Ohio snake identification guide
